Henry Altemus Company


Series 120 - Library of Standard Authors

Series Name:
Publish Dates:
Library of Standard Authors
1897 - 1898
Varied reprint editions
Series Number:


Title: Author: Year: Illustrator:
1 Tales From Shakespeare Lamb, Charles and Mary    
2 Paul and Virginia Sainte-Pierre, Bernardin de   Leloir, Maurice
3 Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass Carroll, Lewis   Tenniel, John
4 Lucile Meredith, Owen   Maurier, George Du
5 Black Beauty Sewell, Anna    
6 Scarlet Letter (For more information click here) Hawthorne, Nathaniel   Barnes, H.P.
7 House of the Seven Gables Hawthorne, Nathaniel    
8 Battles of the War for Independence Holmes, Prescott    
9 Battles of the War for the Union Holmes, Prescott    
10 Song of Hiawatha Longfellow, Henry    


Henry Altemus
Cloth. Various colors. Checkerboard-like floral pattern in gold and inks. Gilt tops. 7.5 x 5.5.

Series Notes:
1. This series was introduced in 1897 with volumes 1-9.
2. Book #10 added in 1898.
3. Book number 3- Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass was published in this series in 1897. The title page however says 1895 at its base. This copy used the title page of the 1895 printing from Series #167 Standard 12 mos.







Webmaster: webadm@henryaltemus.com   (Technical Help Only)

Last Revision: July 18, 2008