Henry Altemus Company


M. A. Donohue & Company


Donohue reprinted seven Henry Altemus Company Series beginning in 1934. These are listed and described in alphabetical order below.

1. Aircraft Boys Series
This one book series was first published by Altemus in 1932. (http://henryaltemus.com/series/series1.htm) Originally a second book was planned. On the last page of the Altemus book a second book, Aircraft Boys in the Mayan Temples was listed as the next book in the series. With the demise of the Altemus publishing business, this book was never printed. The Donohue book does not mention the Mayan Temples book.

The dust jacket pictures for both the Donohue and Altemus books are the same. The book cover is blindstamped with title and author in block lettering.

1. Aircraft Boys and the Phantom Airplane by Lotharo Hoover


2. Doris Force Series for Girls
This four book Altemus series (http://henryaltemus.com/series/series12.htm) was reprinted in its entirety by Donohue. These books have the same four glossy Thelma Gooch illustrations that the Altemus books have. Just like the first editions, the dust jacket has a different book appropriate picture for each book. The only difference is a horizontal green stripe that is found on the top and bottom of each jacket.

The Donohue books have illustrated endpapers by Chamberlin. These are not present on the Altemus books. Also the Donohue books are slightly larger than the Altemus books. (8.25 x 5.75 versus 7.75 x 5.25)

Julia K. Duncan, is a pseudonym for the author Mildred Wirt (books #1,2) and Walter Karig (books#3,4)

1. Doris Force at Locked Gates
2. Doris Force at Cloudy Cove
3. Doris Force at Raven Rock
4. Doris Force at Barry Manor






3/4. Grace Harlowe Series
Donohue published two Altemus series, the High School Girls Series (http://henryaltemus.com/series/series19.htm) and College Girls Series (http://henryaltemus.com/series/series9.htm) as one series- Grace Harlowe Series. This eleven book series has the same dust jacket cover that is on the Format 4 Altemus College Girls Series. The cover is blindstamped and came in various colors. There is a line drawn picture of a school in the center of the cover.

1. Grace Harlowe's Plebe Year at High School
2. Grace Harlowe's Sophomore Year at High School
3. Grace Harlowe's Junior Year at High School
4. Grace Harlowe's Senior Year at High School
5. Grace Harlowe's First Year at Overton College
6. Grace Harlowe's Second Year at Overton College
7. Grace Harlowe's Third Year at Overton College
8. Grace Harlowe's Fourth Year at Overton College College
9. Grace Harlowe's Return to Overton College
10. Grace Harlowe's Problem
11. Grace Harlowe's Golden Summer Josephine Chase wrote these books with the pseudonym Jesse Graham Flower.




5. High School Boys Series by H. Irving Hancock

Donohue published this series in its entirety. The book covers which have been seen in various colors are blindstamped. There is a line drawn picture of a football and a book on the center of the cover. Two different dust jacket illustrations have been seen. One is the same as the Format 3 jacket from the Altemus series. (http://henryaltemus.com/series/series17.htm). The other jacket illustration is new to the series. It is unclear which has priority but it is my belief that the jacket that is the same as the Altemus Format 3 book is the earlier of the two. The underlying books are identical.

1. High School Freshman
2. High School Pitcher
3. High School Left End
4. High School Captain of the Team

First Donohue Edition

Second Donohue Edition


6. High School Vacation Series by H. Irving Hancock

Donohue published this four book Altemus series in its entirety. The Donohue dust jacket for this series is different than the Altemus jacket. The book cover is blindstamped with a line drawn picture of a sun setting over trees and a cabin. The books' covers came in a variety of colors. The text/illustrations of these book are identical to the earlier Altemus editions.

1. High School Boys' Canoe Club
2. High School Boys in Summer Camp
3. High School Boys' Fishing Trip
4. High School Boys' Training Hike



7. Perry Pierce Mystery Series by Clinton Locke

The Altemus series (http://henryaltemus.com/series/series24.htm) included three books. Donohue published the first edition of volume 4 in 1934. Clinton Locke is a pseudonym. The first book was written by Walter McFarlane while the last three were penned by Walter Karig. Each book has four glossy illustrations. There is an endpaper illustration by Chamberlin that is not present in the Altemus books. The books are blindstamped and have been seen in various colors.

1. Who Closed the Door
2. Who Opened the Safe
3. Who Hid the Key
4. Who Took the Papers










Webmaster: webadm@henryaltemus.com  (Technical Help Only)

Last Revision October 17, 2012